Good to have you here! We want to hear everything you have to say and answer all your questions.

Pinned Questions

So, where does the sugar in your oatmilk come from?

Our oatmilks (aside from the Chocolate) don’t contain any added sweeteners like cane sugar, which is why they’re not listed as an ingredient. The sugar in our oatmilk is produced during our enzymatic production process. Basically, we use natural enzymes to liquefy our oats, which enables us to create a really creamy product that retains a lot of the nutrition from the original oat (like protein, unsaturated fats, fibers, and carbs). As part of this process, the enzymes break the starches in our oats down into smaller components, including simple sugar like maltose. It’s comparable to how the human body uses enzymes to break starches down into sugars during digestion. You can read more about this process here

 
FDA guidance on sugar labeling now provides that any sugar created during a product’s production process should be categorized as 'added', which is why these sugars are listed as 'added sugar' on our nutrition labels. 

I am allergic to nuts, peanuts, dairy, gluten and/or eggs. Are your products safe for me to consume?

Our US products are certified gluten-free and made without tree nuts, peanuts, dairy, and egg. Based on the US FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act) and the FASTER Act (Food Allergy Safety, Treatment, Education and Research Act), they are safe for people with allergies to the top nine allergens (milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, gluten and soy and sesame). 


In full transparency, some of our partner production facilities also process other products containing top nine allergens. However, they follow all guidelines laid out by the US FALCPA and FASTER Act and are committed to careful cleaning and testing protocols to prevent cross-contamination. As an added precaution, we also test our finished products to ensure they meet our allergen requirements and are suitable for people with top nine allergies. 

Where can I find a cafe near me that offers Oatly?

You can let the world’s most useful map, Oatfinder, show you all the forward-thinking cafes nearby that are serving Oatly. We’re happy to say it’s updated with new cafe partners all the time.

Where can I find grocery stores near me that carry Oatly?

The Oatfinder can help you with that, too. It quickly shows you a map of all the stores in your area that stock Oatly. Please feel free to email our US team at info.us@oatly.com if you’d like any help finding our products. You can also email us just for fun.

About Oatly

Wait, so what is oatmilk anyway?

Oatly oatmilk is a vegan, plant-based milk alternative made from gluten-free oats. It’s pretty simple really. Our oat base is just oats and water. But it’s what we do with those oats and that water that makes Oatly so special.

Is Oatly a Swedish company or a US company?

We’re both! Oatly headquarters are in Malmo, Sweden, where Oatly originated about 25 years ago when our founder, Rickard Öste, invented our now patented process of making liquid oats at Lund University. Oatly has been a small Swedish company and a popular Swedish brand with a large international fan base for decades. And now, here we are launching Oatly in the US. So we've figured out how to get high-quality, gluten-free North American oats to process into our favorite liquid oat products here, too.

Where are your oats from?

We’re very picky when it comes to our partners as the quality of our oats is key to the taste of our products. For our North American products, we source high-quality, gluten-free oats from trusted suppliers who work with farmers across the US and Canada. Our suppliers are committed to responsible farming practices and together, we’re working to implement more regenerative agriculture for oats (read more about this initiative here). 

Where do your other ingredients come from?

If you visit our product pages, you can see where we source each of our ingredients by clicking on the “where does it come from” button. 

Where do you make your products?

Our North American products are produced in the USA and Canada.

Our products

What’s the difference between the Barista Edition Oatmilk and Original Oatmilk?

While our Barista Edition and Original oatmilks have the same ingredient list, we’ve formulated our Barista Edition to work particularly well in hot beverages and steam beautifully for a latte or cappuccino. The Barista Edition has a higher fat content—3% to be exact—making it extra creamy. It’s perfect in espresso and coffee, great for baking and cooking, and can even be enjoyed straight from the carton. Our Original oatmilk has a fat content of 2% and is delicious on cereal, in smoothies, or served straight up. 

Why did you choose canola/rapeseed oil?

We’re always trying to find a balance between sustainability, taste and nutritional health. Oatly has used canola oil (also called rapeseed oil in Scandinavia) in our products for many years, because we believe it is the plant-based oil that best enables us to deliver on those values. In our US operations, we use only non-GMO canola oil that is expeller-pressed with zero hexane involved in the process. In comparison to other plant-based oils, non-GMO canola/rapeseed oil also contains relatively less saturated fat and has a neutral taste profile that lets the flavor of our oats shine. 

Why do you use coconut oil in your frozen desserts and Oatgurt products? 

We needed to include a high-quality plant-based fat in these recipes in order to give these two products their awesome texture, mouthfeel, and super-creamy consistency. After plenty of R&D, we found that coconut oil fits the bill for Oatgurt, while a blend of coconut oil and non-GMO rapeseed oil works best for our frozen desserts. The coconut oil we use is highly refined with virtually no allergenic proteins left, which means we do not need to list coconut as an allergen. 

But I can’t have oil!

We totally understand that added oil isn’t for everyone. That’s why we made our Low-Fat Oatmilk. Made with only oats, water, salt and vitamins and minerals, this product is available at retail stores and is a great option for people who can’t eat oil (or just don’t like it). 

So, where does the sugar in your oatmilk come from?

Our oatmilks (aside from the Chocolate) don’t contain any added sweeteners like cane sugar, which is why they’re not listed as an ingredient. The sugar in our oatmilk is produced during our enzymatic production process. Basically, we use natural enzymes to liquefy our oats, which enables us to create a really creamy product that retains a lot of the nutrition from the original oat (like protein, unsaturated fats, fibers, and carbs). As part of this process, the enzymes break the starches in our oats down into smaller components, including simple sugar like maltose. It’s comparable to how the human body uses enzymes to break starches down into sugars during digestion. You can read more about this process here

 
FDA guidance on sugar labeling now provides that any sugar created during a product’s production process should be categorized as 'added', which is why these sugars are listed as 'added sugar' on our nutrition labels. 

What about your Chocolate Oatmilk? Do you add sugar to those?

Yes! We add some organic cane sugar to our Chocolate Oatmilk to balance out the bitterness of the cocoa in each of those products. The Chocolate Oatmilk contains 8g added cane sugar per serving.

Why do you fortify your oatmilk with added vitamins and minerals?

We fortify Oatly oatmilk with vitamins and minerals because we want to offer our vegan friends a delicious dairy alternative that is also nutritionally balanced. We add calcium, potassium and vitamins A, D, B12 and riboflavin, all of which are 100% vegan-friendly.

How should I store your oatmilk products? 

Our 32 oz cartons are shelf-stable and will stay fresh until the best by date, so they are pretty great for storing in your pantry, on a countertop or pretty much anywhere else you can fit a carton of oatmilk. Our 64 oz chilled cartons will also stay fresh until the best by date, but they should be refrigerated continuously. 


Once opened, all our oatmilk carton—both shelf-stable and chilled—should be kept refrigerated and consumed within a week as noted on the carton.  

What’s the difference between the refrigerated oatmilk and shelf-stable version?

Our chilled and shelf-stable oatmilks are made using the same recipe. Shelf-stable oatmilk is UHT-treated and packaged aseptically, which allows for a longer shelf life and no need for refrigeration (until it’s been opened for the first time, that is). Our chilled oatmilk is pasteurized and stored in a regular carton, which is why it needs to be kept refrigerated at all times and has a shorter shelf life. 

What is your packaging made from?

We’re always looking for ways to reduce the climate impact of our packaging (along with the good stuff inside that packaging, of course). As most of this impact is determined by the packaging materials and how those materials are produced — and because recycling capabilities vary so much from region to region — we’ve decided to prioritize incorporating renewable packaging as much as possible. However, our ultimate goal is to use fully recyclable packaging that’s also made from fully recycled or renewable materials. So where are we at with our packaging now? 

Our shelf-stable cartons are made from 70% renewable resources, while our chilled cartons are made from 82% renewable sources. Both carton types utilize 100% FSC-certified paperboard, meaning the paperboard is fully traceable to the forest where it was grown and has been third-party verified as renewably and responsibly sourced. The aluminum liner and plastic inside the shelf-stable carton and the plastic caps and spouts on top of both carton types are not currently made from renewable sources. 

In really amazing news, our frozen dessert cartons are now 97% bio-based. They feature a new type of paperboard with a bio-based plastic coating made from sugarcane. The amazing news doesn’t stop there. This paperboard is also made from 100% recycled material that’s certified by SFI (the Sustainable Forestry Initiative), meaning the trees that were used to make it came from responsibly managed forests. 

Our Frozen Dessert novelty bars include wooden sticks and are packaged in an inner polypropylene plastic wrapper and an outer FSC-certified paperboard carton.  

Our Oatgurt cups are made of PP (polypropylene), which is BPA- and phthalate-free.

Is Your Packaging Recyclable?

Great question! The answer is a bit complex given how much local recycling capabilities vary across the nation. To make things easier, we recently adopted the How2Recycle labeling system and have added their labels to our US packaging to give everyone more updated and transparent information about its recyclability. These labels were designed to help consumers understand whether different types of packaging are universally or locally recyclable—or not recyclable at all. 

 

First up, oatmilk! Our oatmilk cartons are widely recyclable and can be recycled in most US households. Just make sure to empty your carton and replace the cap. You can find out if your community recycles cartons by visiting Carton Council's website and entering your zip code here. You can also check out some tips on how to recycle cartons here.

 

Our Oatgurt cups are recyclable in some areas — just remember to discard the foil seal first. If you’re not sure whether your community accepts #5 plastic cups made of PP (polypropylene), you can find out here. If your area isn’t on this list, don’t fret! Hopefully Preserve will resume a program that allows consumers to mail in their clean, empty Oatgurt cups for recycling. If you know of any similar programs in the meantime, we’d love to hear about it here!

 

While our frozen dessert cartons are made from 97% bio-based materials, they are not yet recyclable because (as a general rule) most recycling centers do not currently accept used, coated ice cream cartons of any kind. With our Frozen Dessert novelty bars, the outer paperboard cartons are recyclable but the sticks and individual plastic wrappers are not, so they should be discarded.

 

Last but not least, our packaging is not currently compostable (this includes the sticks from the novelty bars) but we appreciate every person who has ever wondered or asked us this question. We’ll update this page if this ever changes.

Do your products contain corn or legumes? What about other ingredients outside of the FDA’s top nine allergens?

Some of our products do contain pea protein and corn-derived ingredients. Our testing and cross-contamination prevention protocols cover the FDA’s top nine allergens (milk, eggs, nuts, fish, crustaceans, shellfish, wheat, soy and sesame) only. This means we can’t guarantee that our products are safe for people with allergies to foods outside of the top nine.

Allergens & Specifications

Why don't you use organic oats?

We’ve chosen to source certified gluten-free oats from conventional producers for now because doing so means we can scale more quickly and get more oatmilk to more people at a more accessible price point to better tackle climate change today—all while ensuring our North American products are suitable for people with food allergies. That said, as part of our sustainability commitments, we’re designing new partnerships with farmers and millers to incentivize a food system shift towards more regenerative agriculture. You can read more about our ambitions to drive a food system shift and support more sustainable methods of oat production here. And in the meantime, you might like to know that our North American products are certified glyphosate residue free and Non-GMO Project Verified.

Aren’t oats always gluten-free?

Yes! Oats are inherently gluten-free. However, depending on how they are processed they can often be cross-contaminated with gluten. For this reason, we source only certified gluten-free oats for our US products.

Are your products gluten-free?

Yes, all of our US products are certified gluten-free by GFCO (The Gluten-Free Certification Organization). 

What about glyphosate?

Our oatmilk is certified glyphosate residue free by The Detox Project. As part of this certification, we submit our finished oatmilk to a qualified third party lab on a random, quarterly basis to have it tested for glyphosate residue, so we’re able to ensure that our oatmilk is fully compliant with the specifications for glyphosate residue free products.

Are Oatly products kosher?

Yes, all our products are certified kosher by OU. They are currently certified kosher under the dairy label because they’re processed in a facility that also processes products containing dairy (though we conduct rigorous testing throughout the production and packaging process to ensure there is no cross-contamination of any kind).

Do Oatly products contain GMOs?

We’re committed to only non-GMO ingredients. All of our products are Non-GMO Project verified.

Are Oatly products vegan?

You bet! Our products are 100% plant-based and are certified vegan by Vegan.org.

I am allergic to nuts, peanuts, dairy, gluten and/or eggs. Are your products safe for me to consume?

Our US products are certified gluten-free and made without tree nuts, peanuts, dairy, and egg. Based on the US FALCPA (Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act) and the FASTER Act (Food Allergy Safety, Treatment, Education and Research Act), they are safe for people with allergies to the top nine allergens (milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, gluten and soy and sesame). 


In full transparency, some of our partner production facilities also process other products containing top nine allergens. However, they follow all guidelines laid out by the US FALCPA and FASTER Act and are committed to careful cleaning and testing protocols to prevent cross-contamination. As an added precaution, we also test our finished products to ensure they meet our allergen requirements and are suitable for people with top nine allergies. 

Do your products contain corn?

Yes, we do use some corn-derived ingredients in oatmilks, frozen desserts and Oatgurt. To learn more about our ingredients and their sources, we recommend checking out the "Where do the ingredients come from?" section on our product pages.

Why did you choose to include coconut oil in your frozen desserts? I’m allergic to coconut!

We needed to include a high-quality plant-based oil in our frozen recipes in order to give those products their awesome structure, mouthfeel, and super-creamy consistency. We chose to include a minimally processed blend of coconut and non-GMO rapeseed oil because this combination offers the best possible nutritional profile, including an ideal blend of saturated and unsaturated fats, as well as a neutral taste that lets the flavors of the products’ other, more interesting ingredients shine through.

 

The oils used in our frozen products are also highly refined and contain virtually no protein residue. As a result, the coconut oil used in our US products does not pose an allergen risk to people with tree nut or coconut allergies.

Where To Find Oatly

Where can I find a cafe near me that offers Oatly?

You can let the world’s most useful map, Oatfinder, show you all the forward-thinking cafes nearby that are serving Oatly. We’re happy to say it’s updated with new cafe partners all the time.

Where can I find grocery stores near me that carry Oatly?

The Oatfinder can help you with that, too. It quickly shows you a map of all the stores in your area that stock Oatly. Please feel free to email our US team at info.us@oatly.com if you’d like any help finding our products. You can also email us just for fun.

Can I buy Oatly in Canada, Mexico or the Caribbean?

At the moment, our North American products aren’t available for consumers to purchase outside of the US. However, our Barista Edition Oatmilk is served in select coffee shops in Canada and Mexico! You can find a location near you via our Oatfinder.  

Why can’t I find you at my local grocery store? 

As an oatmilk company, we’d love for every single oatmilk-curious human to be able to find us at all their local stores. So, of course, we’re working hard to scale up production as quickly as possible. We’re sending regular shipments to all our grocery and coffee distributors — be sure to let the dairy manager at your favorite store know you’d like to see us on shelves! 

Shipping

How do you ship oatmilk orders?

We ship oatmilk orders via UPS Ground. 

How do you ship merch orders?

We ship merch orders via USPS Ground.

Can I ship to a PO Box?

No. Unfortunately our carriers do not currently deliver to PO Boxes, so please use a home or work address for your Oatly order.

My shipment is missing or damaged. What do I do?

If your order is missing, please confirm that your order was delivered by visiting our tracking page here. You will need one of the following:  

  • Order number and email or phone number
  • Tracking number 


If your order is damaged, please take photos of the damaged product and email us at info.us@oatly.com and we will help you out. Please attach the images to your email.  

How do I track my order?

Please visit our tracking page here.

Do you ship outside the US?

We currently only ship within the continental US. We’re not able to ship to Alaska, Hawaii or US territories at this time.

Can I make changes to my order after it has been submitted? 

Please email us at info.us@oatly.com as soon as possible if you need to make a change. Most order change requests cannot be completed if the order has already been fulfilled at our warehouse. Changes to your order are not guaranteed.  

My address is wrong. Can I change my shipping address after I submit an order? 

Please email us at info.us@oatly.com as soon as possible. We cannot guarantee an address update once the order has been submitted, but we will do our best to assist. If you need to change your address for future subscription orders, please go to your customer portal here

I no longer want my oatmilk. Do you accept returns?

Unfortunately, we do not accept returns. If there is an issue with your order, please email us at info.us@oatly.com. 

Subscriptions

How do subscriptions work? 

It’s pretty simple, actually. We offer a subscription program for our ambient oatmilk assortment that delivers to your door at a flexible frequency that works for you! Here’s how it works: 

  1. Select your favorite Oatly Oatmilk.
  2. Select your desired delivery frequency.
  3. Sit back and let us do the rest.  


You’ll never have to be without your favorite liquid oats again! And if you ever get tired of your oatmilk selection (it happens…we get it), you can swap the product, change your delivery frequency, or cancel your subscription at any time. You will receive a reminder 15 days before your next shipment in case you need to make any changes.

How do I update my subscription? Like, change my order frequency, delay my order, or cancel my subscription? 

You can log into your account at any time up to one day before your charge date to change your subscription in your customer portal here. You will also get an email 15 days before your next charge date as a reminder. 

Please note that delivery schedule changes must be made before your next charge goes through; once a charge goes through, the order has been placed and it will be shipped as-is as soon as it’s packed up. 

How do I cancel my subscription? 

That’s not a problem, either. You can cancel your subscription in your customer portal here

Things we do

What are we doing, really? Apart from oats, that is. Come and look for yourself.

bird saying ask me